What is Schools First?

Schools First is the campaign organization that works to help pass Seattle School levies. It’s a grassroots, citizen-based organization founded in 1995. Our primary mission is to inform voters about upcoming school levies and to direct efforts toward ensuring their passage. Schools First comprises a volunteer Board of Directors who work together to meet the mission of Schools First.

Ongoing Public School Support

As a permanent political organization, we are a unique voice for encouraging support for local levy funding of our Seattle Public Schools. Our continued existence demonstrates the commitment of citizens who care about our public schools and are dedicated to providing information to Seattle voters when considering levy ballot measures.


Schools First receives its funding from private corporate donors and individuals in the community concerned with the quality and success of all Seattle public schools.

Greg Wong, President

Kerry Cooley-Stroum, Vice President
Barbara Kelley, Vice President
Peter Maier, Treasurer
Lyn Porterfield, Secretary
Betty Hoagland, Past President

Honorary Co-Chairs

Mayor Mike McGinn
King County Executive Dow Constantine
Simon Amiel
Jon & Bobbe Bridge
Patrick D’Amelio
Jonathan Knapp
Bill Lewis
Dan McGrady
Lauren McGuire
Steve Mullin
Tre Maxie
Estela Ortega
David Perez
Norman B. Rice
Father Sundborg, Seattle University
Kevin Washington

Board Members

Stephan Blanford
Glenn Bafia
Heidi Bennett
Blair Butterworth
Tania de Sa Campos
Jake Ewart
Sandeep Kaushik
Barbara Kelley
Jonathan Knapp
Phil Lloyd
Lisa Macfarlane
Tre Maxie
Lauren McGuire
Sara Morris
Estella Ortega
David Perez
Carol Rava Treat
Bill Sherman
Mary Sullivan
Brian Vance
David Westberg